About Second Thought Theatre

Founded in 2003 by Barbara Bouman, Lance Currie, Mike Schraeder, Steven Walters, and Tom Parr IV, Second Thought Theatre provides an intimate and unique theatrical experience by empowering top local artists to take risks, and by showcasing writers who boldly tackle the difficult and demanding questions of our rapidly changing world.

Attending a Second Thought Show

Second Thought’s Home: Bryant Hall

Second Thought Theatre stages the majority of its productions in Bryant Hall at the Kalita Humphreys Theater between Turtle Creek and the Katy Trail, just off Blackburn. Bryant Hall is a wonderful little black box theater perfect for Second Thought, next door to the Frank Lloyd Wright’s Kalita Humphreys Theater.

Bryant Hall
3400 Blackburn St
Dallas, TX 75219

Talk Backs

After all performances (except for opening night), we hold a talkback between the audience and various members of the cast, artistic staff, and production team.  Each session is led by a STT member as a way to continue the conversation beyond what you’ve seen on stage.  Talkbacks usually last 10-20 minutes and help us create a growing dialogue between our artists and patrons about the immediate issues surrounding our community.  We would love to have you as part of the conversation!

Contact Information

Mailing Address:

Second Thought Theatre
3839 McKinney Ave., Ste. 155-452
Dallas, TX 75204

General Information: info@secondthoughttheatre.com

Call or Text: (214) 897-3091


Artistic Director – Carson McCain (email)
Director of Operations – Drew Wall (email)

History & Founding Members

Second Thought Theatre was founded in 2003 by Barbara Bouman, Lance Currie, Mike Schraeder, Steven Walters and Tom Parr IV.

Board of Directors

Joshua D. Terry, Board President
Gregory A. Odegaard, Secretary
Jim Nugent, Treasurer
D. Lance Currie
Emily Ernst
Jordan Hora
John Farrell
David Leggett
Fabiana Martínez
Wolford McCue
Lila Murphy
Karol Omlor
Carson McCain, Artistic Director
Drew Wall, Director of Operations


Erik Archilla, Advisory Member
April Bosworth, Advisory Member
Nick Even, Advisory Member
Joel Ferrell, Advisory Member
Amy Kendrick Lee, Advisory Member
Deborah McMurray, Advisory Member
Danielle Pickard, Advisory Member
Steven Walters, Advisory Member
Paul Wingo, Advisory Member

Staff Biographies

Carson McCain is thrilled to be joining the team at Second Thought Theatre. She is a born-and-bred Texas director and producer, with a heart for new and local work that serves to connect humans and foster empathy. She is a graduate of Southern Methodist University, where she studied acting, and directing. There, she received a Meadows Exploration Grant to develop and produce the world premiere of Michelle with Wet Eyeballs by Claire Carson. She serves as the Supervising Producer for Spoke Media where she has produced and directed numerous audiobooks and podcasts, including The Left Ear with Dakota Johnson and Because I Watched: A Netflix Podcast. Second Thought Theatre audiences will recognize her work as the director of Empathitrax by Ana Nogueira and The Great God Pan by Amy Herzog. She has also directed at Undermain Theatre (Really by Jackie Sibblies Drury,) and Stage West (Lungs by Duncan McMillan). She served as associate director on Dallas Theater Center’s 2016 production of A Christmas Carol, on Second Thought Theatre’s production of BOOTH by Steven Michael Walters, and as assistant director on Belleville by Amy Herzog, Kitchen Dog’s Production of I’m Gonna Pray for You So Hard. Other directing credits include Middletown by Will Eno, Delirium by Enda Walsh and Theatre O, and the world premiere of Ophelia Underwater by Janielle Kastner. To experience more of Carson’s work, check out her most recent podcast, Untitled Dad Project with Janielle Kastner on whatever podcast app you use.

Drew Wall is currently the Director of Operations for Second Thought Theatre and has been working with the company since 2007. During that time, he has served as an actor, designer, producer, production manager, and resident artist. Second Thought acting credits include Incognito, Empathitrax, Straight White Men, Belleville, Nocturne, The Great God Pan, Booth, Red Light Winter, A Behanding in Spokane, The Bombitty of Errors, A Skull in Connemara, The Country Wife, and Lobby Hero. Other (select) credits include Gloria (Dallas Theater Center); Long Way Go Down, Beauty Queen of Leenane, Totalitarians, Macbeth (Kitchen Dog Theater); On The Eve, Defiance (Theater Three); The Dog Problem (Undermain Theater); Father Comes Home From The Wars (African American Repertory Theater).  His work has also been found behind the scenes of many other local theater companies over the past years as a designer, welder, and carpenter.  From 2009 to 2015 he served as STT’s Production Manager and Resident Artist. In 2015, Drew was named Director of Operations, the first full-time position in STT history, where he currently leads both the Administration and Production departments and handles all daily company business. Drew received his BFA from Baylor University.

Second Thought Theatre is generously sponsored by TACA.

TACA C50YOTLTTA_Outlines_Logo